My experience with Nubian Heritage’s Indian Hemp & Haitian Vetiver Lotion

So I think it best to begin this review by giving some semi-detailed insight as to how I eventually came about this product. As I’m sure most are now well aware , the natural craze within the beauty industry has sky rocketed. But I remember when this was not so- when the idea of going ‘natural’ was still new, when now well known natural brands were still going through their primary product packaging as they were introduced to the world…and even back THEN (4-5 years ago) the idea of natural was much more common than say 2005-06 (the earliest dates I’ve seen for forum posts about hollistic approaches and the like).

Anywho. So around 2007 I had searched around for a curly hair specialized salon to finally get my hair trimmed and shaped. I had not been to a salon, legitimately, for this type of service since I was a toddler. My mother was always the one to trim my hair after I washed it and that was all I knew. By 2007, at age 17, I then began to feel like I needed a little more oomph in my step and the rest was history. It initiated the interest in natural products for my hair and with the knowledge from that stemmed the intrigue of dabbling into organic and natural ways to treat both my facial and body skin issues. As of recently I have also branched into internal ways to be a cleaner eater and the introduction of fitness on a more serious level. It’s fascinating how much of a domino effect it all really is.

image

One of the first ‘organic’, ‘natural’, or whatever they want to try and market it as, lotions I used was Jergen’s. They came out with I believe 2-3 different scents that were supposed to have oils as a main ingredient and as I was attempting to move on to products with less chemicals, I became a sucker. (Please note that the different Jergens Naturals scents may not have all been oil based. I can’t really remember much about the whole line they were trying to introduce. I just know I had it in my posession for about 24 hours and it wasn’t all that natural) I went to my local Target, bought one, came home and looked up reviews, (a totally backwards way of doing things) and read about the formaldehydes within the ingredients. I returned the lotion and did more searching. I had my eye on Nubian Heritage Hemp lotion for about 6 months before I decided to shell 9 bucks (on sale) for it and I finally purchased it January of 2012. To tell you the truth, I can’t even remember what I was using before but I know they weren’t as natural as this baby.

Ingredients:

Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)*, Deionized Water, Cannabis Sativa (Hemp) Seed Oil*, Stearyl Alcohol (Palm Kernel), Ceteareth 20 (Emulsifying Wax), Castor Seed Oil, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter*, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter*, Vegetable Blend, Carbomer, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Vetiveria Zizaniodes (Vetiver), Allantoin (Comfrey Root Extract), Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower (and) Lonicera Japonica (Japanese Honeysuckle) Flower Extract (*Denotes Certified Organic Ingredient).

The ingredient list is semi-hefty, but besides maybe the Carbomer (?) and the emulsifying wax, there is nothing in this list that is a chemical (to my knowledge).  I really love this lotion. It does have shea butter as one of the main ingredients and unfortunately it is too heavy for my breakout prone chest and back. Other than that, I use this on my entire body and it works great. The more you put on the silkier you will feel, but because of the price point I tend to only put enough to moisturize. The scent is awesome to me; definitely gender neutral but I do feel like it has a tiny hint of masculinity in the scent (but it’s not a masculine scent if that makes sense). So the biggest hits with this lotion for me is that 1. It calms down my Keratosis and 2. Diminishes stretch marks. Yup, it does both for me. After I moisturize my whole body I usually put a little extra on my Keratosis that I have on my upper arms and they are now about 95%  of the way smooth. I also make sure to apply some on my bum area, where I have stretch marks, and within 2 weeks tops I saw results. My marks aren’t completely gone because I stopped using the lotion half way through to try a different brand (I’m always trying things out and am too impatient to wait for each bottle to finish before doing so), but if I had used it all the way through, I’m pretty sure I would see bigger results.

I will note that I finally am about 2 applications away from done with this bottle,it being October, and the shea butter’s scent is starting to become a little more dominant. In the grand scheme of things, that took about 10 months to happen, you still smell the other notes in the fragrance, and if you use this lotion on a daily basis I think you’ll finish it up within 3-5 months. I will also note that this isn’t the typical liquidy ‘lotion consistency’, though I’m sure with a look at the ingredients you would already know that.

I have a stash of other things in my cabinet that I need to try out and then I intend to toy around with making my own body butters. But if that doesn’t work out, then I’m definitely going back to this brand and I’ll try out their other scents.

(P.S. I am aware that hollistic life styles have been around since the beginning of time and are still present in Eastern cultures especially. My initial paragraph is referring to the re-introduction of this lifestyle in commercial America)

Leave a Reply

